Rules

Learn what rules are and how they work

An automation rule is a set of instructions that automate specific actions or tasks within your admin.atlassian.com organization.

They're designed to streamline your user onboarding and offboarding processes, improve your security, and save your administrators time by reducing manual effort.

There are a number of rule types in the Admin Automation app:

  1. Remove inactive user (coming soon)

  2. Enable site access for user (coming soon)

  3. Disable site access for user (coming soon)

  4. Activate managed user (coming soon)

  5. Deactivate managed user (coming soon)

  6. Delete managed user (coming soon)

  7. Grant product roles and access (coming soon)

  8. Remove product roles and access (coming soon)

  9. Import Users and Groups (coming soon)

  10. Export Users and Groups (coming soon)

Add user to group

If a user is added to Group A, then also add the user to Group B.

An admin can specify two groups and ensure users that are added to one, are also added to the other.

This is useful for 'syncing' users to the default Atlassian product access groups, such as jira-software-users and jira-servicemanagement-users, which an Identity Provider cannot directly sync users to.

Remove user from group

If a user is removed from Group A, then also remove the user from Group B.

An admin can speficiy two groups and ensure users that are removed from one, are also removed from the other.

This is useful for 'syncing' users to the default Atlassian product access groups, such as jira-software-users and jira-servicemanagement-users, which an Identity Provider cannot directly sync users to.

Last updated